Life, Ambition and Graduation

Graduation. This has been a word that I have been striving for the past 12 years. After getting lost on the way to class one day and ending up in the Navy, I have had the solid goal of completing my undergraduate degree. The fact that I am 50 days away from completing it leads me to wonder what life is going to be like with after reaching this goal. The way that I run my life is to learn anything and everything; I was asked three times today while at my internship, “Travis, is there anything that you don’t know how to do?” I take pride that I can make things happen; give me any task and it will be done.

I live my life that the only thing that is stopping me from doing something is myself. I have ran my life that way since I was 15, and I have found success at every corner. I have big dreams and goals, and feel like life isn’t long enough to do everything that I want. If I had my way, I would like to be in marketing, PR, a firefighter, police officer, DEA agent, pilot, standup comedian, politician, engineer and the list goes on and on. If I was lucky enough again to have the G.I. Bill for a second time and get an advanced degree, I would. I simply can’t get enough of learning and trying new things.

Life after graduation is going to be amazing, I can already feel it. I always found it a little tacky when people to tell their children, “the world is your oyster, you can be anything you want to be,” but now that I am in that position, I tend to agree with it. I have always dreamed of being in the public relations field, and doing my internship at i.d.e.a. (formerly BaileyGardiner) has given me that opportunity. Simply adding their name onto my LinkedIn has sparked hundreds of random marketers and journalists to view my page and add me on Twitter. I feel that I have been given a chance of a lifetime interning there, and have been trying as hard as I can to get the most out of it. My friends think I’m crazy because where we are only required to do 120 hours for our internship, I will be doing close to 600. I know this is the career I want to be in, so it would be stupid of me to not learn as much as I can while I am there.

Being a generally relaxing and friendly person, people always ask me if there is anything that upsets me. I was just asked this the other day and didn’t know how to answer, because besides the obvious answer of bad drivers and rude people, I didn’t exactly know what to say. While I was thinking about it, I had noticed a friend that had graduated college last year but wasn’t really applying himself to finding a good job, and it was making me frustrated. That was when I found out that not applying yourself and not doing things to the best of your ability was what made me upset. I couldn’t bring myself to get out bed in the morning if I knew I was just living for the sake of living, and not bettering myself somehow. I am very project based and love problem solving; it keeps me on my toes and continually challenges me.

One of my friends is leaving to be with his wife and children while she is stationed in Japan, and told me that we would meet up in three years when he got back. That really put things into perspective for me, that I have NO idea where I will be in three years. San Diego? New York? San Francisco? Montana? Anything is possible now, because the world is at my fingertips.

Leave a Reply

