My Jump From Nikon to Canon

Holy crap have I been living in the stone age! I recently bought a Canon 60D and what a difference it is! The cameras that I have are a Nikon D70, Nikon D80, and now the Canon 60D; given that my Nikon’s don’t shoot video, I will be talking about still photography.

I have always been an advocate for learning on worse things, that way when you get the good stuff you are 100 times better. For instance, I play guitar and started learning on a $10 acoustic instead of an easier, more expensive electric; this proved to pay off because I learned very fast, and had much stronger hands. I kept this mantra even with my cameras; while my friends were purchasing $4,000 Canon 5D Mark III’s, I was still chugging away on my 12 year old Nikon.

Yesterday, I went out for a night shoot, and my first shot I was completely blown away! I couldn’t believe how clear the pictures were, the sensor in the 60D absolutely blows away my Nikon! Taking pictures at night with the Nikon would mean that I would spend hours in post color correcting, fixing saturation, dodging and burning like crazy. The pictures that I took with the Canon last night I did zero post on, it looked perfect straight off the camera.

Here are a few sample pictures. These are taken with the Nikon D70, with about an hour in photoshop:

San Diego Downtown – Nikon D70

San Diego Birdrock – Nikon D70

The next two where what I took last night with the Canon 60D – look at the colors on the pictures, these were both taken with the crappy lens that comes with the camera (I haven’t purchased any new ones yet), and zero photoshop.

San Diego Bob Hope Memorial – Canon 60D

San Diego Seaport Village – Canon 60D

Granted, I like the composition of the Nikon pictures better because I was actually out on a shoot that day, but you cannot beat the look of the Canon!

Here’s to many more pictures and fun events – let’s go take some pictures!

One thought on “My Jump From Nikon to Canon

Leave a Reply

